Anyone who knows me outside of the screen knows that I love to read. I read a lot! I love words. I love words a lot!

I learned how to read a quite a young age thanks to my older sister ( by 3 years) who went to school and came home and taught me. By the time I went to Kindergarten, I was reading well. So well that I couldn’t stay with my peers, I was bumped to the next grade for reading instruction. That love of reading has continued throughout my who life; I was always reading something. One of my favorite books as a kid was The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett.

I enjoyed a fair amount of fiction when I was growing up, of course. But it all took a back seat in college as I focused on teaching practices and child development. Then as I worked and started a family I just didn’t have as much time for reading. I was tired! And also, around age 22 is when I accepted Jesus as my Savior and I began to really not like some of the authors I was reading. So fiction lost its appeal.

Thankfully, there are so many Christian writers out there that produce such inspiring works. And I feel like since my life slowed down a little bit in the last few years, I am finally getting a chance to read these wonderful thoughts that others have compiled. It’s is so good to have godly content in my hands to help me to grow closer to God! I still enjoy fiction sometimes. But mostly I like Christian living and true stories ( autobiographies and biographies.)

So, my wonderful Sunday School ladies every year give me a sweet gift of a gift card or money and, you know, it sends me straight to my book list… I am so blessed to be part of the group of ladies that gather each week in our church to study and pray. They spoil me too much!

During the year I write down quotes and search them out to find out which author said what and then I add that book to my list of “would like to read.” Sometimes I can check the book out at our local Christian radio station that also has an extensive library. But sometimes I want to get the book and keep it…(So hard to give books back!) So…I got my gift this year…and began to decide on my reading list. It’s a good stack I think! And I’m so thankful for Ebay and the fact that I can often find good condition used books for a fraction of the cost and often benefit charity. Practicality is important! Well here it is:

Some are more recent writings and some are not. I have read The Love of God, by Oswald Chambers. That is a gem and I highly encourage anyone to read it who just needs a heart check or a faith boost. I have started Humility. This one makes me think and in a good way. So much so that I have to stop and put it down so I can really ponder what is being said. I also have started The Heavenly Man. I’m only a few pages in there, but I know I’m going to hate finishing it. I always enjoy true stories, especially of missionaries. And to be totally truthful, Unshakable Hope is our current Sunday School book. I’m not teaching this one, another wonderful woman in our group is and she is doing amazing!

I am counting on this stack to get me through the winter and most of spring (until I can get to the previously mentioned Christian radio station’s used book sale in May!)

I have also added a devotional to my morning Bible reading/Prayer time. Praying the Names of Jesus, by Ann Spangler is a 26 week study. I had previously worked through Praying the Names of God by her and it was so good! Each week focuses on a name. I write the name’s meaning in a journal and what I learned from the scripture associated with it. This particular book started out with Immanuel (Emmanuel) which is one of my favorite names of Jesus. It rocks my world when I think that the Creator God took the form of man to be with and save a sin wrecked people who didn’t seek Him. I think on that and I’m undone.

Okay, so those are the books filled with delicious words that I am going to devour over the next few months… So what are you reading? Do you have any suggestions for my list?? I’d love to know!

5 thoughts on “My book stack…

  1. I love historical fiction. Brock and Bodie Thoene are great writers. My all time favorite series is The Zion Covenant and The Zion Chronicles (11 books in all). They start during the holocaust and continue in to the reestablishment of Israel as a nation. Fantastic! Blessings, Peg!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment